Art page!

Journal Date: July 24th, 2023 (around 4:30pm EST)

Art page has finally been added! As of currently it only showcases my favorite works (I need to add a lightbox feature in the future) but I'll consider adding other kinds of art to it later. I also updated my about to include different profiles for me and my sona/mascot. I figured the differentiation would be semi-important for people to know. As for the next update, I'm gonna add a new section and attempt simplified character profiles for my OCs so I can have them ready for Art Fight minigame season if the site doesn't burn down before then and if not that there's always the art trade scene I guess.

Been taking a glimpse around other neocities sites to get some more ideas for what I wanna add here but I'm hitting a roadblock. I think the limitless possibilities (combined with the hard space limit for free accounts) are making it twice as difficult to figure out where I wanna go with everything. Until I have an income, I don't see myself paying for premium nor abandoning my toyhouse profiles... but maybe if I learn more html/css it'll be easier to figure out what I'm going for on this site with the free limit. I just want a space that's both constantly evolving but in a functional-enough state that I can sit back and enjoy it too. But we'll figure it out.... eventually...

And, well I guess that's it. Weather has been hot and stormy lately so gonna take advantage of my functioning wifi to study my classes now. Bye!!

Listening to current jams playlist
Reading w3schools / bootstrap docs (lifesaver)
Playing Cookie Run Kingdom
Eating Chicken salad sandwich
Drinking G-fuel (because I'm caffeine dependant)

First REAL Site Update

Journal Date: July 22nd, 2023 (midnight)

I've made so much more progress on this than I expected! Ngl I genuinely thought I'd get stuck and give up like I did on so many projects in the past, LOL. But we've got a semi-functioning site now, yippie!!!! Also, after reading around, I didn't realize I wasn't supposed to update my site directly with all my minor edits and code tests... whoops (something lowkey embarassing about only existing for a day and having over 200 updates, ). Got myself an editor to work on from now on so those won't be as frequent from here on out.

I used to LOVE deviantart's old journal entry style. I missed being able to keep track of interests and leave behind glimpses of old hobbies. So for now on site and life updates will be kept in this format! (Thinking they will be color coded: site updates in yellow/orange and life updates in purple/pink/blue).

Read full entry

As for the site, I hope to make it chrome/firefox/mobile friendly, but that's already caused me a lot of stress so we'll see how long that lasts (It's still pretty broken). Also: the art page is not implimented, but I will make an update once I add it. (Me? An artist with a malfunctioning art page? A crime...). Additionally, I'm thinking of making SUPER abbreviated profiles for my OCs on here. I tried to do that on toyhouse, but some character tabs were getting super cluttered and I was dying to simplify (also they are my babies and I think about them 24/7 I have the right to info-dump on my own website hahaha). I want to keep things clean and organized but I am in no way intending to be professional with this. May also make a space to ramble about my favorite shows and characters but I haven't been getting those hyperfixations as intensely as in the past. If they come up I sure will have a page for it.

Aaaaaand that's it! (for now). Talking to an invisible audience is surprisingly cathartic... It reminds me of the old days... :)

Listening to chill vibes playlist
Reading html/css/bootstrap pages (help)
Watching friends gaming
Playing Splatoon 3 (finished story mode!)
Eating Un-frozen pasta
Drinking Hot chocolate

First Entry

Journal Date: July 19th, 2023

Salutations!

My name is Cappy. I got into coding with HTML and CSS recently as a hobby (thanks to toyhou.se). I've been a slow learner, but it's been a fun journey. When I learned about this site and how it allows you to code pages from scratch, I was both intimidated and excited! With my current skill level, it's a challenge, but one I'm enthusiastic to embark on.

As I continue to learn how to code, this place may look a little barren or messy, but I hope to get it to a point where I can use it as a personal blog. You can expect me to focus on art and my characters/stories, and maybe a webcomic (for fun) if I'm feeling brave (though a few side interests may slip in on the side if I see it fit). I may also consider learning how to code simple videogames in the future and charting my progress on those here. In the meantime, you can find me on the following sites:

Tumblr: cappycodeart
Toyhouse: cappycode

Have a fantastic day!

To Top